2022 Friday Medal Ceremony

Headshots of Friday Medal winners James A. Banks and Joann Blumenfeld

This year’s Friday Medal recipients are James A. Banks, the Kerry and Linda Killinger Endowed Chair in Diversity Studies Emeritus at the University of Washington College of Education and founding director of the Banks Center for Educational Justice, and Joann Blumenfeld, founder and program director for the Catalyst program at The Science House. For the first time, the Friday Institute has decided to honor both a practitioner and researcher within the same year.

In recognition of the commitment of Bill and Ida Friday to educational excellence, the Friday Institute created the Friday Medal to honor significant, distinguished and enduring contributions to education and beyond through advocating innovation, advancing education and imparting inspiration. This award is given annually to those who embody the mission and spirit of the Friday Institute.

Watch the Recording