Advisory Board

The Friday Institute’s Advisory Board is made up of leaders from schools, universities, businesses and government, all of whom share a deep commitment to innovation that will improve schools. The board meets annually to discuss the strategic directions of the Friday Institute, and its members provide consultation and advice to the Friday Institute leadership team throughout the year.

Board members:

Ron Bailey 
Department Head, Professor of African American Studies, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

J.B. Buxton
Principal Consultant, Education Innovations Group

Chris Dede
Professor of Technology and Education, Harvard Graduate School of Education

Shelley Goldman
Professor of Education and Director, Learning Design and Technology Program, Stanford University

Ann Goodnight
Director of Community Relations, SAS

Keith Krueger
CEO, Consortium on School Networking (CoSN)

Saundra Murray Nettles
Clinical Professor, Dept. of Educational Psychology, College of Education, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Jim Pellegrino
Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Psychology and Education and Co-Director, Learning Sciences Research Institute, University of Illinois at Chicago

Steve Rasmussen
Publishing Professional, SR Education Associates, LLC

Shawna L. Young 
Executive Director, Duke University Talent Identification Program (TIP)

Mary Ann Danowitz
Dean, NC State University College of Education (ex-officio member)